Governance Structure

The Welsh Pony and Cob Society is governed by a board of 15 trustees, who are elected for a three year term of office by the Society Members.  Trustees can stand for election for 2 terms of office (6 years in post) before being required to stand down for 3 years before re-election.  The Society's board of trustees is referred to as the "Council" of the Society.  At the first Council meeting after AGM, a Chair and Vice-Chair of Council are elected to preside over meetings.

Council members are nominated to further sit on sub-committees, which, as from 2014, consist of the following:


The Society has an elected President, who chairs the AGM and is the highest appointed officer.  President Elects are nominated by Council for approval of the members at AGM, with the President Elect becoming President the year following this election.

For 2018/19, the President of the Society is Mrs E. A. Russell of the Gartconnel Stud.  The President Elect is Mr B. Foster of the Gerrig Stud.