News and views 

WPCS 2014 Annual General Meeting

Report of the Welsh Pony and Cob Society Annual General Meeting

The 2014 AGM of the Welsh Pony and Cob Society was held under the Presidency of Mr Edwin Prosser at the Mercure Holland House Hotel, Cardiff on 5th April. Accompanying the Officers on the top table were Giselle Davies representing the Society’s new Solicitors, Geldards and Claire Philips from the Society accountants and auditors Broomfield Alexander.

Members stood as a mark of respect for the many members who passed away during 2013 – 2014.

The first resolution passed was to elect Mr David Roberts (Tawelfan) as Council member for 2014 – 2016. The next proposal that a Trustee/Council member could be removed from office by 75% of other trustees was not approved. The next resolution to be passed was that members can nominate and elect the President-Elect (currently carried out by Council). Members then voted to accept the new Articles of Association.

Mrs Elizabeth Russell, Chairman of Finance guided members through the Balance Sheet. While income from registrations had decreased from £344k to £314k and from membership subscriptions from £233k to £212k, the Investment income had increased from £31k to £81k. The total funds carried forward were £1,734,617. Legal fees decreased from £43,628 to £8,814. Chairman emphasised the importance of enlisting for Gift Aid which generated £15,158. Life membership fees will be increased as from 1st January 2015 to £950 (under 21), £750 (21 to 40), £550 (41 to 59) and £350 for over 60 years.

The following were elected by postal ballot to serve on the Council for 2014 – 2017: Mrs Anne Bigley (Llanarth), Mr David Blair (Waxwing), Mr Stewart Franklin (Sarum), Mr John Kirk (Donys) and Miss Joanna Sheil (Dukeshill). To bring the total number on Council up to 15, the unsuccessful candidates for 2014 – 2017 were elected for 2014 – 2016: Mrs Dania Leyson, Mr Peter N E Morgan, Mrs Gillian Thomson and Mrs Angela Kember.

Honorary Life membership was conferred upon the Hon. Mrs Maxine Ponsonby (Lechlade) and Honorary Life Vice-Presidency upon the Misses Sue and Janet Hardy (Briarth). The Society’s major honour, the Brodrick Memorial trophy was awarded to Mr and Mrs Cerdin Jones of the Synod Stud. The retiring Past Young Ambassador Miss Maggie Simons was presented with her badge and the in-coming incumbent Mr Shae Price presented with the Derwen Harp with Mr Gareth Watkins as Young Ambassador-Elect. Miss Kate Williams received the Young Achiever award and Miss Emily Ham received an Educational Bursary. The Kentchurch trophy for welfare went to Mr Phillip York.

Chairman of Council, Mr Martin Waters presented his report: Registrations of 6,047 were decreased from 11,703 in 2009; comprised of 1,907 A, 650 B, 736 C, 1,710 D and 614 WPB. Membership remained almost the same at 7,158 (1,731 life and 5,427 annual). Exports were only slightly down at 463 led by 107 to Germany and 78 to France; at enormous export costs were 10 to the USA and 2 to Australia.

The Publicity Officer Dr Wynne Davies described the activities of 2013. The Publicity items he produced on the Society’s web-site amounted to 52 pages of reports of Shows, Sales and Open Days with 288 photographs. Two books produced in 2013 were “Riding from Mathrafal to Caernarfon in 1937” and Tom Best’s 362-page “The History of Welsh section B” which has proved a best-seller. Following the death of the great stalwart Mrs Alison Mountain of Twyford Stud in January 2013, a “Mrs Alison Mountain Memorial cabinet” has been set up in the Society’s museum and it is hoped that many members will pay it a visit. Dr Wynne presented the retiring President with an album of 56 photographs commemorating his year of Office.

Trophies and certificates were awarded to:

Sire ratings: Blackhill Picalo (A), Laithehill Oberon (B), Moorcroft The Master (C) and Gwynfaes Culhwch (D).

Performance sire ratings: Springfieldpark Dot Com (driving), Roseisle Pandytudyr (mini ridden), Poundy Druid (WHP) and Heniarth Quinnell (ridden).

Royal Welsh Sire ratings and reserves: Blackhill Picalo and Lacy Buzbee (A); Moelview Charmer Boy, Newtonhill Naughty Boy Charlie (jt) and Heniarth Woodwind and Hilin Carnedd (jt,B); Blaencila Bonheddwr and Caerneuadd Hywel (C) and Gwynfaes Culhwch and Danaway Tango and Gwenllan Brynmor (jt,D).

Highest-placed at HOYS: Nynwood Fantasia (LR), Waxwing Painter (FR), Waitwith West Wind (122cm), Stockham Secret Envoy (133cm) and Brynithon Romance (143cm).

Highest-placed at Olympia: Waitwith West Wind (A),Carrwood Shimmering Gold (B), Yrallt May Day Surprise (C) and Llanidan Linesman (D)

Royal Welsh gelding Derwen spoons: Llanarth Dynamite (A), Gigman Pizazz (B), Thistledown Samson (C) and Powysvalley Tobago (D) and the Debbie Dunbar portrait of the RW champion in 2013 went to section C: Synod Lady Lilian.

The Christine Latter painting for the Supreme champion of the 2013 Performance Show was won by India Latter’s Powys Sprite so the painting was awarded to the reserve supreme Mrs Caroline Langford’s Butleigh Picasso with India Latter receiving a surprise painting of Powys Sprite.

Brightwells representatives presented their Sale awards: Mr and Mrs Milton Jones, Champagne moment at the Autumn Cob Sales; Telynau Stud, Champagne Moment at Fayre Oaks; Mr and Mrs Stuart Morgan highest-priced brood mare; Fronarth Stud highest-priced foal and Ms K Lloyd’s Mynach Orsino highest-priced section B.

Votes of thanks to the retiring President were given by Mr Robert Manchip (Ffald) and Mr Tom Hughes (Ionos) and the President’s badge was passed to Mrs Mary Redvers (Bwlch) and Mr David Harris (Pennal) was elected as President-Elect. It is interesting that Mrs Redvers’ grandfather Mr Gwynne-Holford and Mr Harris’ great-uncles the Rowlands Brothers were founder members of the WPCS in 1901. A letter of appreciation to the retiring Chief Officer Ms Anna Prytherch was read out.

Dr Wynne Davies
7th April 2014.



8th Apr 2014