News and views 

Royal Welsh Winter Fair Results 2011

Royal Welsh Showground, Builth Wells.
28-29th November 2011.

Judge of the supremes at the Winter Fair held on the Royal Welsh showground on 28th and 29th November was Mark Tamplin of the Griashall Stud who has competed at every previous Winter Fair, either as exhibitor or producer, but this was his first experience as judge.

For the supreme award, he selected Ann Bassett’s Sports Horse champion the yearling Casino Scandal. Scandal should be well accustomed to the showring since he was the foal at foot of the HOYS Cuddy Horse runner-up champion Elite de Roulette. Sports Horse reserve champion with judge Rachel Thomas was Huw Gruffydd’s skewbald foal Caereini Chikateta and Huw was also the breeder of the sire Cereini Voluut and the dam Caereini Lushara.

Mark’s reserve supreme was the section B yearling colt Zonneweide Royal Lustre whose dam Rhydspence Sheer Joy is from the famous Reeves Fairy Lustre line. Royal Lustre’s sire is Liezelshof Macho which Peter produced for Belgian owner Danny Daelemans to win the 2009 Royal Welsh Summer Show championship. From 81 entries, judge Rowena Andrew selected the colt foal Llanarth Legacy owned by Len and Ann Bigley. These two colts were a good matched pair which might be expected since their dams, Rhydspence Sheer Joy and Rhydspence Cerys are both sired by Mollegaards Don Pedro and are excellent examples of the type of pony bred by that good supporter of the WPCS Chris Gibbons of Rhydspence who passed away this summer.

Judge of the overall Welsh was Terry Court of Brightwells Auctioneers who selected the palomino section C yearling colt Cargarsar Silver Phantom with the grey section A filly foal Shamrocklake Cherish Clemantine reserve.

Clare Granger and George Mitchell of the Dycott Stud, Chingford bought Silver Phantom as a foal and liked him so much that they then bought his dam Springfieldpark Dot. Danielle Everitt’s choice for section C reserve champion was Veronica Layton’s colt foal Caebryn Harri QC produced by Michael Cobley. Harri’s full-brother the three-year-old Caebryn Endeavour was the 2011 Royal Welsh Show youngstock champion.

Reserve champion Welsh, Henrie Leeuwenhaag’s Shamrocklake Cherish Clemantine was section A champion judged by Beata Reipen. The colt foal class of 52 entries and the fillies with 73 entries had  to be split into two groups to be accommodated in the Judging Marquee. Cherish Clemantine and the 2nd-prize filly from these enormous numbers, Rhosbrenin Blodwen from Anglesey are both sired by Shamrocklake Royal Heartbeat of Henrie’s “Dutch Preferent” stallion Ceulan Cariadog family and Blodwen’s dam is also sired by Cariadog. Reserve section A champion was the yearling filly, Mark and Liz Kilbey’s Idyllic Vienna whose parents Idyllic Entreprenour and Idyllic Fonteyn are both famous champions.

 The Welsh cob section, judged by Meurig Thomas, was again a “family affair”, both champion and the yearling colt winner Murrayhall Cadfael Arbennig being sired by Gwenllan Brynmor. Champion was the coal foal Trevallion Brynmor which Julie Evans bought from Nelson Sith of Trevallion when only a few days old to be a future outcross to her mares sired by her 1999 Royal Welsh champion Fronarth Victor. Reserve champion was another foal, the filly Rhydelian Stud’s Rhydelian Queen Ruby sired by their Trefaes Black Flyer, overall supreme at the 2011 Glanusk Show held on this showground.

Welsh part-bred champion judged by John Morris of the Aberconway Stud was Sara Miriam Williams’ chestnut colt foal Parciau Mab William by the part-bred stallion Telynau Just William out of the cob mare Seiont Miriam. Sara has been a consistent winner of Welsh cob ridden classes but decided to try the part-bred x cob mare cross this time. Reserve champion was Ann Bain’s part-bred section C cross Vignoles L’Indienne produced by Dycott Stud, sired by the eventing stallion Hollingdon Grange Indian Ink out of Vignoles Legend.

Champion coloured judged by Brenda Thompson was another Welsh part-bred, Fiona Livermore’s tobiano foal Doylan Alouette’s Gift sired by her coloured stallion Blewins Gift Of Liberty out of Doylan Keepsake. Reserve coloured champion was the 2nd-prize foal, Colin Tibbey’s section “X“ skewbald Lacy Puzzle sired by Lacy Brigadier out of Lacy Purdy.

Section A (Mrs B Reipen)
Colt Foal

1, H Hughes’ Llwyfo Ianto
2, Godebog Stud’s Godebog Knight
3, A Denney’s Hope John Bach.

Filly Foal  
1, Champion & Reserve Overall Welsh, H Leeuwenhaag’s Shamrocklake Cherish Clemantine
2, V Jones’ Rhosbrenin Blodwen
3, S Anderson’s Thistledown Songbird.

Yearling Colt
1, K & J Sheil’s Dukeshill Presley
2, B Crezee’s Doornzicht Motown
3, Countess of Shrewsbury’s Chetwynd Jasper.

Yearling Filly  
1 & Reserve, M & L Kilbey’s Idyllic Vienna
2, R Lewis’ Cwmmeudwy Serig
3, R Miller & M Davies’ Heniarth Gloriumptious.

Section B (Mrs R Andrew)
Colt Foal

1 & Reserve, L & A Bigley’s Llanarth Legacy
2, D & G Jones’ Waxwing Glimmer
3, C Morse’s Pennwood Magician.

Filly Foal  
1, C Williams’ Thistledown Golden Zumba
2, Landon family’s Linksbury Royal Princess
3, D Morgan’s Cadlanvalley Czarina.

Yearling Colt
1, Champion & Reserve Supreme, P de Rade’s Zonneweide Royal Lustre
2, D Williams’ Moelgarnedd Stafros
3, M Jones’ Doylan Figurehead.

Yearling Filly  
1, E Hughes’ Treflan Sara
2, D & G Jones’ Fairywood Delilah
3, J Mitchell’s Wynswood Picadee.

Section C (Miss D Everitt)
Colt Foal

1 & Reserve, V Layton’s Caebryn Harri QC
2, J Gwillim & R Davies’ Dewicwrt Theseus
3, G Holt’s Coed-duon Prince Caradog.

Filly Foal  
1, H Leeuwenhaag’s Cadfach Sali
2, S Lane’s Brynceri Hot Socks
3, D Hewer’s Senators Florescent.

Yearling Colt
1, Champion & Overall Welsh, C Granger & G Mitchell’s Cargarsar Silver Phantom
2, I Lloyd-Hughes’ Ty’rllawn Master class
3, M Groucott’s Swffryd Madog Mai.

Yearling Filly  
1, A & H Roberts’ Lynard May Queen
2, A Castle & C McClellan’s Crugybar Black Lady
3, J Walters’ Ty’rllawn En-vogue.

Section D (M Thomas)
Colt Foal

1 & Champion, J Evans’ Trevallion Brynmor
2, E Evans’ Egwysfach Capten
3, Rhydelian Stud’s Rhydelian Morning Quality.

Filly Foal  
1 & Reserve, Rhydelian Stud’s Rhydelian Queen Ruby
2, J Evans-Davies’ Brynfa Julie Ann
3, J Knowlson’s Kylebeck Cameo.

Yearling Colt
1, B & H Hall’s Murrayhall Cadfael
2, R Davies’ Crugybar Tomos Morganna Mai
3, J Claes & J Bugler’s Davids ap Llewellyn.

Yearling Filly  
1, N Lewis’ Lynard Brenhines
2, E Harcourt’s Iouar Elizabeth
3, J Evans’ Haighmoor Seren Wen.

Coloureds (Ms Brenda Thompson)

1 & Champion, F Livermore’s Doylan Alouette’s Gift
2 & Reserve, C Tibbey’s Lacy Puzzle
3, C Paxton’s Doylan Top of the Pops.

1, M Williams’ Spirit Warrior
2, L Robins’ Widlake Sequels Sundance
3, G Davies’ Brechfa Ceridwen.

Welsh part-bred (J Morris)
Foal Under 148cm  

1, E Hughes’ Glenrowan Maythyme
2, S Roberts’ Royalview Razzle Dazzle
3, Doylan Alouette’s Gift.

Foal  Exc 148cm  
1 & Champion, S Williams’ Parciau Mab William
2, N Bennett’s Plasucha Lord William
3, G Edwards & M Lloyd’s Tynyfid Party Girl.

Yearling Under 148cm  
1 & Reserve, A Bain’s Vignoles L’Indienne
2, G Thomas & D Jones’ Telynau Martell
3, S Roberts’ Royalview Tranquility.

Yearling Exc 148 cm  
1, G Owen’s Abermenai Lady Matilda
2, K Hall’s Penstrumbly Taffeta.

Sport Horses (Miss R Thomas)

1 & Reserve, H Gruffydd’s Caereini Chikateta
2, R Wilson’s Talponciau Mischiefmaker
3, Parciau Mab William.

1, Champion & Supreme, A Bassett’s Casino Scandal
2, M & S Evans’ Apprentice
3, M Walton-Barnes’ Jannah’s Prospect.

Dr Wynne Davies     




14th Dec 2011