News and views 

Synod Lady Lilian

Synod Lady Lilian

Supreme at the Horse of the Year Show, Birmingham last night in the Cuddy In-Hand championship.

Photographed when she qualified at the Royal Welsh Show. Photograh by Arthur Thomson, BEM (USA).

Lady Lilian is owned by the Williams family, Ringside Stud, Castleton, Cardiff.

Lady Lilian was bred by Cerdin and Doreen Jones of the Synod Stud, Talgarreg and was bought privately by the Williams family after she did not reach her reserve at the 2009 Brightwells Welsh Cob Sales.

There are 22 Cuddy qualifiers in Britain but the Royal Welsh is the only one in Wales, and the competition is judged as Under 148 cm and Over 148 cm then Overall under spotlights in the evening in the Main Ring.

The HOYS Show was first held in the Harringay Arena in 1949, then moved to Wembley Stadium in 1959 where it remained until 2002 when it moved to the NEC at Birmingham.

The first In-Hand Championship was held in 1965 when it was sponsored by Fredericks Stables, then Lloyds Bank were sponsors from 1972 until 1988.

Subsequently the competition sponsors have been Creber, Templeton, Breeders Challange and Cuddy Engineering since 2003.

The Welsh breeds have been very successful over the years, starting with the championship won by Honyton Michael ap Braint (section D) in 1967 followed by Treharne Tomboy (A) in 1968 and 1969. The Welsh cob Llanarth Flying Comet then was champion in 1974, 1979 and 1980, followed by Winneydene Satellite (A) in 1983, Waitwith West Wind (A) in 2006, Glyncoch Hyfryd (A) in 2007, Pinewell Bucks Fizz (A) in 2008 and 2009 while Welsh ponies of cob-type section C have now made it three in a row, Parvadean Delight in 2011, Glebedale Ding Dong in 2012 and Synod Lady Lilian in 2013.

Welsh part-breds have also been very successful winning the championships: Copybush Catchphrase in 1994, Merryment Pussycat in 1998, Broadgroave Chatterbox in 2003 and Rotherwood Take-a-Peep in 2005.

Dr Wynne Davies
WPCS Publicity Officer


10th Oct 2013