News and views 

2010 NPS/Baileys Horse Feeds Mountain and Moorland Supreme Ridden Pony of the Year

In the seventies and eighties it was the goal of most ridden native enthusiasts to qualify for the final at Olympia. The advent of ridden native classes at HOYS somewhat changed that but there remained a loyal band who still had the Olympia top of their list. First run in 1978, the Olympia Final has been the flagship for the National Pony Society in native pony terms but from 2011 the British Show Pony Society takes over the organisation with a proposed change in format. Over the duration of the competition the Welsh breeds have been the dominant force at the final since the first was won by the section B Criffell Casper. Many Section B, C and D winners have followed since but surprisingly never a Section A so maybe this will be the year for the mountain pony to stand supreme. As the book closes on this chapter of the competition, Lady Vestey's unique record of Kentchurch bred finalists will remain a constant reminder of the amazing contribution her breeding has made to the native world over the thirty three years of the competition. Seventeen Welsh have qualified for the 2010 final four more than last year and for the first time the qualifiers include a Dutch bred pony. The competition will be decided on marks with Mrs Gillian MacMurray, a previous winner of the competition, assessing conformation and Miss Gill Evans awarding the score for performance. The Welsh Pony and Cob Society extends very best wishes to all the owners and riders of the Welsh ponies and cobs competing and records its appreciation to them all for ensuring the Welsh breeds remain a major force at this prestigious event. 2010 Welsh qualifiers Section A Brynodyn Sirius Gartconnell Shooting Star Sunwillow Jubilee Waitwith Westwind Section B Keizershoek Fons Millcroft Iska Roc Muskerry Blue Danube Wotfield Trysor Section C Lychfields Scrumpy Jack Waxwing Rheel Yrallt May Day Surprise Section D Broughton Ambassador Broughton First Lady Crugmelyn Owain Glyndwr Llanarth Old Fashion Llanfyllin Shooting Star Tybanadl Trystan

31st Jan 2011