News and views 

National Welsh Championship Show, Malvern 12th August 2012

The Welsh National Championships of 112 classes held on the Three Counties Showground, Malvern on Sunday 12thAugust consists of two Shows rolled into one. The morning session is devoted to the Silver Medal Show, each section having 8 classes sponsored by Brightwells Auctioneers, Working Hunter, Dressage classes and the Mini ridden section. These are followed by Driving classes with championship prizes of £150 sponsored by Thorneyside Stud who are selling 51 Welsh cobs on the Brightwells Cob Sale on Saturday 20thOctober; champion was Katie Nee’s section D Neebro Rising Sun and reserve was Clare Granger’s section A Teifi Frankie Flanagan.

The morning ridden classes are qualifiers  for the Horse Of The Year Show M&M NPS/Baileys Horse Feeds Championships sponsored by Delami Stud and are guaranteed large entries, this time 20 section A’s, 30 B’s, 21 C’s and 36 D’s. Miss Ann Wheatcroft’s section D black mare Sydenham Ixia ridden by Phillipa James was champion with Sam Roberts riding Carter and Newbury’s palomino section B gelding Eyarth Osprey reserve. The section A winner was Madeline Plumb’s palomino gelding Rowfantina Tribute and the section C was Martino Gennuso riding the bay mare Toprock Vienetta.

In-hand section A’s attracted large entries with the champion and reserve both coming from the barren mare class; champion was the grey mare Tame Valley Polka owned by mother and daughter Margaret Smith and Sharon McLagan and reserve was the black mare with the unusual name of Dagwood Little Black Eyed Pea owner-bred by Ms Carter. Polka, who was the bargain of the 2010 Fayre Oaks Sale at £750, was reserve champion from 540 entries at last year’s Royal Welsh Show. The stallion winner Ceulan Stud’s Weston Distinction ended up 5thin the lucrative afternoon National Championships.

The bay two-year-old colt Moelgarnedd Stadross, champion of section B justified the faith of his breeder Mr David Williams of Bala who imported his dam Weston Park Musk Rose from Australia; she is of the same “Weston” bloodlines with which he started his Moelgarnedd Stud in 1970. Mr Sandy Anderson’s grey stallion Mowbray Pilgrim was reserve, his sire Baledon Commanchero was leading  section B performance stallion for many years and his dam Paddock Picture was Royal Welsh champion in 1998.    

Champion section C was Nebo Stud’s bay brood mare Nebo Ruth (Nebo Sion x Eugrad Dejavu) whose full-sister Nebo Rebecca was 2ndin the National Championships; reserve champion was Glyn Williams’ chestnut two-year-old colt Carless High Noon produced by Rotherdale Stud. Mr Mickey Morris’ stallion Avonvalley Great Britain shown by Jack Bowerman was section D champion from the yearling filly, Julie Evans-Davies’ Brynfa Julie Ann who was reserve filly foal from 47 entries at last year’s Royal Welsh Winter Fair.

The four-year-old pony stallion Rotherwood Spring Storm was champion Welsh part-bred from Mrs Kath Hall’s large three-year-old chestnut filly Penstrumbly Upsee Daisy and they also stood 1stand 2ndfrom 26 entries in the afternoon National Championships. Upsee Daisy’s dam Penstrumbly Okee Doke was also reserve champion mare/gelding to the grey pony gelding Balfour Toreador by Strinesdale Matador.

Victoria Woodland rode Lisa Perrott’s chestnut section C gelding Tyntyla Gwyndaf to be WHP champion which they also won last year with the reserve placing going to the under 122 cm section B gelding Netherfield Mr Darcy.

To be able to compete in the afternoon’s five Brightwells In-hand National championship classes, each with prizemoney of £400, every entry must have qualified by being champion or reserve  at major or Area Association Shows or here in the morning classes and the large rings were filled to capacity, first with A and WPB, followed by C then B and D each with about 25 animals forward.     

The section A winner was the grey 11-year-oldd stallion Stonedge Samuel produced by Colin Tibbey for owners Robin and Sally Athey from Roxburghshire; he was last year’s Royal Welsh champion and went on to represent Wales in the HOYS Cuddy championships. Section B winner was the six-year-old bay stallion Hilin Tattoo which owners Graham and Tracy Lowe of the Byley Stud in Cheshire bought from his breeder Dewi Evans as a foal; Tattoo was this year’s male champion and reserve overall champion at the Royal Welsh Show. Jack Bowerman, having shown Cerdin and Doreen Jones’ section C mare Synod Ringlet’s Last to be overall champion from 344 entries at the Royal Welsh Show, this time produced his own Synod Royal Treasure to win the £200. Nebo/Tyngwndwn Stud then won £175 for being 2nd, 3rdand 4thwith Nebo Rebecca, Tyngwndwn Lion King and Tyngwndwn Angharad. Another Royal Welsh champion, Mattie Attrell’s ten-year-old chestnut roan mare Danaway Cracklin Rose captured the section D £200 purse to add to her George Prince of Wales and Tom and Sprightly highlights; this is the third time for Cracklin Rose to win this award.

Brynseion Stud then sponsor six ridden classes, again with £400 prizemoney for ridden A, B, C, D, lead-rein and first-ridden, again for animals which qualified at the specified Shows. Jessica Matthews rode the seven-year-old palomino stallion Fosterhouses Romeo to win section A, Claire Sheehan rode Mrs Filmer’s grey Lemonshill Falcon, another seven-year-old stallion to win section B, Nicole Musson’s six-year-old browen stallion Popsters Tommy Cockles won section C and Catrin Reed added more money to the Nebo/Tyngwndwn kitty by winning section D riding her Nebo Julie Ann. The judge for the lead-rein and first-ridden was Australian Michael Gates, the current Australian WPCS Young Ambassador, who selected Debbie Barr’s section A Waitwith Silver Jem and Cynthia Trodd’s section B Gigman Pizazz. The Ridden WPB Championships sponsored by Dengie Horse Feeds was won by Abigail Morgan riding Mrs Manning’s Haynevalley Secret Charm produced by Jonathan Hughes-Jones and competing in open classes for the first time this year.

The other Australian was Mr John While, President-Elect of the Australian WPCS who judged four classes with £500 prizemoney each for geldings which had qualified at participating Shows; these classes were sponsored by John and Maggie Carter of the Millcroft Stud, long-time supporters of geldings. Young WPCS members Christopher Stansfield won section A with his Sarum Rio, Daisy Eastwood the section B with Hilin Tahiti, Mrs Barton’s Greenmeadows Lord Of The Dance the section C’s and Mrs Garvey’s Tymor Kauto Star heading a very large class of section D’s.

Because of the substantial prizemoney of £215 per class sponsored by NFU Mutual, course-builder Simon Grundy set a very testing course which included the ‘Malvern Bank’ for the National WHP Championships but this did not deter some very creditable performances. Waitwith Silver Jem collected another £100 for section A, Annandale Mattador for section B, Rachel Thomas’ Rivervalley Tyron turned the tables on Tyntyla Gwyndaf for section C, Jess Price’s novice Trenewydd Viking Warrior won section D and Madeline Plumb’s Ravensroost Camilla the WPB from Judith Powell’s well-known eventing horse Langarth Sagramore. Dr Wynne Davies.

6th Sep 2012