News and views 

Glanusk Stallion Show 2015

The 57th annual Glanusk show, held at the Royal Welsh showground on Saturday the 2nd of May, drew in spectators from as far as the continent; despite spells of rain and cold winds this did not impair on the show with a great number of entries forward.

Out of 523 entries, Show President Mr Bill Edwards [Gemstone stud], awarded supreme youngstock and supreme of show to the bay two-year-old Welsh cob champion Cascob Brenin Dafydd, produced by Alun Hughes from Llanfair P.G, Anglesey, for breeder and owner Philippa Owens from Leominster, Herefordshire.

Brenin Dafydd is out of Cascob Heledd, possibly one of the best and most prolific mares ever bred at Cascob, and by Gwenllan Deio.  Deio took the showring by storm in 2007 when he achieved the treble winning at Lampeter, Glanusk and the Royal Welsh show. Brenin Dafydd is full brother to Cascob Powys Princess (sold to Alun Hughes' parents for £11,000 at the 2006 Brightwells sale) and Crown Jewel (Youngstock and reserve overall champion to her sire at the 2007 Lampeter stallion show), and out of the same mother as Cascob Jack Flash (resident stallion at Caederwen stud), Hi Jack (retained at Cascob) and Llyr Du (sold for £2800 at the 2011 Brightwells sale).

Reserve supreme champion was the Section A, Francis and Sallie Goggin's grey stallion Penboeth Tantrum from Merthyr Tydfil, by the late palomino stallion Llwynan Tip Top.

Brenin Dafydd's first hurdle of the day was Welsh cob judge Mrs Wendy Davies [Cynheidre]. Reserve was Mickey Morris' 11-year-old bay stallion Avonvalley Great Briton from Blaenau Gwent, shown by Jack Bowerman. The following Friday and Saturday Great Briton and his full brother True Briton will be part of a 40 mile sponsored drive from Nant y Glo, Ebbw Vale to the Brightwells Spring sale to raise money for the Royal Welsh show, particularly the equine facilities. The stallion classes were a spectacle, with plenty of vocal support to ensure each animal gave its best.

A major attraction at this show is the Welsh mountain pony premium classes. This year's classes were judged by Mr Chris Cobley [Tryfel] and Mr Dennis Price [Afan]. Taking champion was Churchwood Trademark (Crimond Panther x Tiffwyl Tresawr) - owned by Mr Peter Gray but leased to Mrs Kim & Joe Alman for Hergest Ridge Pony Improvement Society.

The Section Cs were judged by Mr Victor Moore [Tycwm]. Clare Granger and George Mitchel's Dycott Equality from Essex took the championship, a three-year-old chestnut colt out of Dycott Heulwen and by Cargarsar Silver Shadow. His action and presence lit up the ring, being high and extensive and was as sensational at his first appearance as he was at his last - he could have easily gone all day. Handler Clare Granger considers him to be the image of his grandsire Felinmor Ringmaster. Reserve went to Sarah Hamer from Llanidloes with her homebred three-year-old chestnut filly Cwmhir Billy-Jo by Donys Llawen, shown by Rhayader based farrier Jamie Edwards. Billy-Jo was later deemed overall filly champion of the show under show president Mr Bill Edwards.

The Welsh Mountain Ponies were judged by Mr Dewi Thomas [Cefnfedw]. This section has always been the strongest and this year was no exception. Francis and Sallie Goggin's grey 11-year-old stallion Penboeth Tantrum repeated his 2013 success by taking the Section A championship. Penboeth also took the supreme here in 2009 with Tantrum's paternal brother, Penboeth Bantam. Youngstock champion was awarded to Phil and Rhys Williams' eye-catching Ffermymorlais Tempo from the Gower, shown by Gethin Williams from Anglesey. Ffermymorlais Tempo is by Fronbach Destination. Winning the yearling class and supreme champion yearling was Gwyndaf and Emma Edwards from Anglesey with Fronbach Cledwyn who was the image of his sire, the 2007 Royal Welsh male champion Frongoch Cardi bred by Emma's mother, Ann Jones.

Section Bs were judged by Horse of the Year Show (HOYS) supremo Mr Sandy Anderson [Thistledown] and he found his champion in Janet Mansfield's golden palomino colt Janpete Del Boy from Cheshire. His turnout was immaculate and was shown ably by daughter Steph Mansfield. Steph's last success at this showground was back in the summer with Del Boy's full brother, Janpete Tom Thumb, who took the youngstock championship at the Royal Welsh show. In reserve was David Morgan and Aled Lewis' chestnut filly Telynau Fanciful from Aberystwyth. This filly really looked the part, both in production and conformation. David and Aled have very shrewdly purchased her sire, Telynau Royal Dictator, from the Telynau stud.

The ridden classes were judged by Mrs Jan Pearce (Sections A & B), and Mrs Nicola Davies (sections C & D). Champion was awarded to the 10-year-old Section B Bronheulog Silas ridden by Vicky Andrew. Gwyneth Griffiths took reserve with her homebred four-year-old bay mare Dyffryngwy Hannah by Trevallion Picasso. This was only her second show under saddle, and was produced by Gemma Paxford.

Report by Owen Rees Griffiths



Supreme of show: P Owens' Cascob Brenin Dafydd; reserve: S & F Goggin's Penboeth Tantrum.
Supreme Youngstock: P Owens' Cascob Brenin Dafydd; reserve: S Mansfield's Janpete Del Boy.
Supreme Champion yearling: G & E Edwards' Fronbach Cledwyn; reserve: G Davies' Rhyd Ddu Fury.
Supreme Champion filly: S Hamer's Cwmhir Billy-Jo; reserve: S Williams' Penymorfa Velvet.
Premium Welsh Mountain Pony stallion: K & J Alman's Churchwood Trademark.

Section A Champion: S & F Goggin's Penboeth Tantrum; reserve and y'stk champion: Ffermymorlais Tempo.
Section B Champion and y'stk champion: S Mansfield's Janpete Del Boy; reserve: D Morgan & A Lewis' Telynau Fanciful.
Section C Champion & y'stk champion: C Granger & G Mitchel's Dycott Equality; Reserve & res y'stk ch: S Hamer's Cwmhir Billy-Jo.
Section D Champion & y'stk ch:  P Owens' Cascob Brenin Dafydd; Reserve:  M Morris' Avonvalley Great Briton.
Welsh cob stallion classes - junior: C J Merrick’s Brynithon The Director; senior: M Morris' Avonvalley Great Briton.


Section A: D Thomas' Pantycoed Silver Charm.
SectionB & Champion: RM Andrew's Bronheulog Silas.
Section C: R Reading's Yarty Ribbon.
Section D & Reserve: G Griffiths' Dyffryngwy Hannah.


Cascob Brenin Dafydd
Photograph by Owen Rees Griffiths



Penboeth Tantrum
Photograph by Sarah Hayman



Avonvalley Great Briton
Photograph by Sarah Hayman



Churchwood Trademark
Photograph by Owen Rees Griffiths



Dycott Equality
Photograph by Sarah Hayman



Cwmhir Billy-Jo
Photograph by Owen Rees Griffiths



Ffermymorlais Tempo
Photograph by Sarah Hayman



Fronbach Cledwyn
Photograph by Owen Rees Griffiths



Janpete Del Boy
Photograph by Owen Rees Griffiths



Bronheulog Silas
Photograph by Owen Rees Griffiths



Dyffryngwy Hannah
Photograph by Owen Rees Griffiths



Springfieldpark Dot Com
Photograph by Sarah Hayman



Hywi Tango
Photograph by Sarah Hayman



Section A Yearling Colts
Photograph by Owen Rees Griffiths


12th May 2015