News and views 

Glamorgan Spring Medal Show 2015

The exhibitors’ lorry park and the spectators’ car park were full to bulging point for the Glamorgan WPCA Spring Medal Show held at Pencoed College on Saturday 11th April.

In-hand supreme with the three judges Mrs Tracey Hook (A), Mr Arwyn Waters (B) and Mr Gwyn Jones (C & D) was Mr Peter Gray’s chestnut Section D stallion Thorneyside Welsh Magic produced by Justin Walters. Welsh Magic is a former champion at Glanusk and won at the Royal Welsh Show in 2010. At Pencoed he headed one of the strongest classes of the day, followed by Avonvalley Great Briton and Aberlogin Black Magic. Reserve Section D champion was the Williams family’s yearling colt Ringside Zorba sired by Trevallion Troy out of Gwernfythan Melody by Newydd Lloyd. The other cob winners were Kiron Jacobite sired by Pennal Calon Lan, the black filly Ffald Obsidian Pearl sired by the palomino Swannhill Golden Rocket and the bay mare Davids Rosina sired by the Royal Welsh winner Rode Eiddwen.

It was youngstock that swept the board within Section A with the championship going to Mrs Sue Mason’s Glyncoch Hyacinth which was purchased as a foal on the 2012 Fayre Oaks Sale and whose grand-dam is the HOYS Cuddy champion Glyncoch Hyfryd. Reserve champion was Mrs Ceri Fell’s palomino yearling colt Brynseion Rozencrantz produced by Popsters Stud; his dam Sarum Rose Petal is grand-daughter of the National champion Cledwyn Red Rose. John and Sooraya Cooke won the colt class with their consistent Stormydown Little Tiger a son of the multi-champion Ceulan Calon Lan. Mrs Claire Hope’s Wellesbourne Prince Charming won the mare or gelding class. Both top stallions have been leased from Holland and both are sired by the 2005 Royal Welsh champion Vechtzicht Hywel, 1st was Dukeshill Stud’s grey Oldenzulster Action Man and 2nd was Ceulan Stud’s bay Ysselvliedts Irresistible.

Champion Section B was the Russell family’s stallion Bryngwennol Royal Tribune who was champion here in 2011 and a grand performer under saddle, his dam Cloigen Fair Trumpet is sired by the 1987 Royal Welsh champion Millcroft Copper Lustre. Reserve champion was the Landon family’s three-year-old Linksbury Dancing Queen whose dam is a grand-daughter of Coed Coch Penwn going back to the foundation of Section B. The Williams family won the yearling class with the filly Cadlanvalley Golden Serenade, Hilin Sandpiper that won the 2/3-year-old colt class was bought on last year’s Brightwells Fayre Oaks Sale for £2,300 and the Russell family also won the mare or gelding class with Llangeitho Annabelle.

There was good turnout of Section C yearlings and their winner Rhyd-Ddu Fury by Parc Hebog (who was 7th in the WPCS sire ratings) was champion from Mrs Dawn Groom’s black two-year-old filly Parvadean Rihanna purchased on the Brightwells Cob Sale as a foal for £4,500. John and Jackie Kirk’s chestnut Donys Dick Turpin of Synod breeding won the two or three-year-old colt class, his dam is Synod Rosie O’Niel and his sire Donys Importance is a son of Synod Glamour Chick. Steve Williams won the mare class with Pantyfid Morning Star by the 2011 Royal Welsh champion Bryncarreg Lightning Jack and the stallion winner was Liv Matz’ Fodol Aron by Nebo Bouncer.

Champion Welsh part-bred was the winner of the largest class, Heavenly Surprise, a thirteen-year-old black mare owned by Miss Hall of Bristol; she gets her Welsh percentage from her sire Willowdene Coriander whose g-dam was the Welsh Sinton Brownie. Reserve champion was the six-year-old bay stallion Orielton Top Secret whose sire and dam were both sired by Orielton Woodlark, son of the Welsh Sarnau Miss Mink who produced two HOYS Riding Ponies of the Year Sarnau Squirrel and Wingrove Ermine.

Champion of the Riding Pony breeding section was Mrs Kathy Hall’s three-year-old chestnut Penstrumbly Our Latif sired by Liberace out of Pentrumbly Our Annie by the Welsh cob stallion Yorkin Come Lucky. Reserve was Mrs Ann Prosser’s bay yearling Amesbury High Society sired by Llanarth Aristocat out of Amesbury Million Dollar Baby who is a daughter of the well-known Section B Rosedale Marionette.

Eleanor Hope won the Young Handlers 7 – 11 years old showing Wellesbourne Prince Charming and Jean Evans the 12 – 15 years showing Thistledown Sea Anchor.

The ridden classes were judged by Mesdames Rachel Reading and Val Robinson, the small classes in the outside ring and the open classes in the Indoor School following on from the In-hand classes. The novice winners were Hannah Parr’s Cwmmeudwy Sali Mali (Lead Rein), Mrs Christine Davies’ Caridines Foxy Lady (First Ridden), India Latter’s Rhoson Shanco (under 137 cm) and Heidi Bennett’s Popsters Roulette (over 137 cm).

Two Caridines ponies were winners of the Welsh Part Bred ridden, Paul Isaac’s Caridines Minstral won the Lead Rein and Caridines Foxy Lady the First Ridden and championship. Reserve champion was the open ridden WPB Claire Hope’s Jamana Monkey Puzzle.

The open classes began with the minis, Wellesbourne Prince Charming (First Ridden) won his third 1st prize and mini championship with the Lead Rein Natalie Hughes’ Malmswood Clarissa reserve mini champion.

The largest open ridden class was that for Section D where the winner Kay Paynter’s former Royal Welsh champion Soden Gwynfor was the winner and champion and supreme ridden. David Thomas’ Pantycoed Silver Charm won the Section As, Thistledown Sea Anchor the Bs and Hafodyrynys Braveheart (who has won here in the past) the Cs.

Dr Wynne Davies
WPCS Publicity Officer

Photographs by Equinepix






Soden Gwynfor and Caridines Foxy Lady



Thorneyside Welsh Magic


26th Apr 2015