News and views 

Carmarthenshire WPCA Autumn Medal Show

16th September, 2012

The Amman Valley Pony Club field was bursting at the seams with exhibitors from far and wide for the Carmarthenshire WPCA Medal Show, the rings were unable to cope and some classes had to be split into males and females. One such class was that for Section A adults judged by Mrs Sally Green of the Salbrook Stud, Nottingham; the stallions were placed in the order Egoes Pickle-0, Raci Uther Pendragon, Rhydgwillim Smooth Rider, Runshaw Llewelyn, Bryn P J and Brynseion Macmillan, every one of which had been a winner somewhere or other earlier this year. The winning mare was Mrs Eggleton’s Hope Abbergale who was placed in a class of 91 entries at the Royal Welsh and she also has many winnings under her belt. Both colt and filly foal classes were also up to double figures, the filly Phensara Joilet winning the foal championship with the colt Ceulan Lann reserve.

Mrs Eggleton also won the Section A championship with her yearling filly Zonneweide Mary J Blige, bred and produced by Peter de Rade; she previously won at the Carmarthen Spring Show and was 7th out of 69 entries at the Royal Welsh. Mary is sired by Jimmy Dykes’ Blackhill Gamecock who is also the sire of Phensara Joilet. Reserve champion was Mike and Sue Harries’ five-year-old gelding Castlemead Bilbo Baggins this year’s Royal Welsh champion gelding, he ended up capturing the supreme gelding award here. His successes must be encouraging to John and Maggie Carter of the Millcroft Stud who have been sponsoring geldings for many years and are only now beginning to reap the reward for their considerable contributions.

Section B judged by Mr David Davies (Ceulan) proved a double success for the local Fairywood Stud of Ammanford who won the championship with their palomino yearling colt Waxwing Glimmer and reserve with their home-bred colt foal Fairywood Excalibar. Glimmer, who won the supreme youngstock award with judge Mr Ifor Lloyd (Derwen) is a son of Cwrtycadno Glain leased by her owner Megan Lewis of Cwrtycadno to Waxwing for four years while she rode from Olympic site Beijing to London for a childrens charity.

Reserve supreme youngstock champion to Glimmer and overall supreme foal was the Section D filly, the Williams family’s Crugybar Maddie Morganna Mai sired by Trevallion Welsh Magic. Maddie is bright chestnut with a pony head and long front and just loved showing off! Section D champion with judge Mr Breian Llewellyn (Wiston) was the three-year-old bay colt Cwmenfys Royal Eiddwen, home-bred on both sides being sired by Cwmenfys Royal Ambassador out of Cwmenfys Seren. Reserve champion was the seven-year-old bay mare Crugmelyn Gwenllian; home-bred by the Davies family of Carmarthen, she is sired by the 1999 Royal Welsh champion Fronarth Victor.

Mr Llewellyn also judged the section C’s where the lion’s share of awards went to Justin Walters of the Ty’rllawn Stud of Tredegar, Gwent, the championship being awarded to his bright chestnut stallion Nye Poppies Boy who was also Mr Lloyd’s choice for Supreme Welsh and Reserve Supreme of the Show. Ty’rllawn Stud also won the foal class with Ty’rllawn Survivor who was reserve to Maddie Morganna Mai for supreme foal and the 2/3-year-old class with the Glanusk champion Donys General Jack which the stud produced for Russ Bennett of Meopham, Kent.

The lead-rein winner, Mrs Leslie Hillard’s Gryngallt Picture Frame won the mini championship from the Section B first-ridden Meg Williams’ Rockbury Remedy judged by Mrs Mary Jones (Nebo); then Picture Frame went on to be supreme ridden from Rachel Reading’s section C Yarty Rhian. Mr Lloyd also awarded the Overall Supreme championship of the Show to a ridden exhibit, the champion of the coloured section, Mrs Audrey Maksoud’s lemon and white cob-type gelding Superted Too ridden by Khalil Maksoud.

Dr Wynne Davies


Champion: Chloe Hobson
Res. Champion: Arwel Lewis

Champion: Camarch Bahama Mama
Res. Champion: Rhos Hill Nickeeta

Champion:Superted Too
Res Champion: Camarch Bahama Mama

Foal Championship
Champion: Fairywood Excalibar
Res. Champion: Zonneweide Birgit

Youngstock Championship
Champion: Waxwing Glimmer
Res.Champion :Wellzjemz Cream Cracker

Bronze Medal Winner
Waxwing Glimmer
Res.: Fairywood Excalibar

Foal Championship
Champion: Phensara Juliet
Res. Champion: Ceulan Llan

Youngstock Championsip
Champion: Zonneweide Mary J Blige
Res.: Rhesfair Me Julie

Bronze Medal
Winner: Zonneweide Mary J Blige
Res: Castlemead Bilbo Baggins

Foal Championship
Champion:Tyr Llawn Survivor
Res. Champion: Parc y Bedw Warrior

Youngstock Championship
Champion:Glynceirch Arwel Teify
Res. Champion: Carless Devine

Bronze Medal Winner
Nye Poppies Boy
Res:Glynceirch Arwel Teify

Foal Championship
Champion:Crugybar Maddie Morganna Mai
Res:Llantwit Cracker

Youngstock Championship
Champion:Cwmenfys Royal Eiddwen
Res: Cledlyn William

Bronze Medal Winner
Cwmenfys Royal Eiddwen
Res:Crugmelyn Gwenllan

Novice Ridden Championship
Champion: Old Forge Tywysog
Res: Ceinewyddfach Seren

Open Ridden Championship
Champion: Yarty Rhian
Res: Rockbury Remedy

Mini Championship
Champion:Gryngallt Picture Frame
Res: Rockbury Remedy

Supreme Ridden & Performance Medal Gryngallt Picture Frame
Res:Yarty Rhian

M & M In Hand Championship
Champion: Rhydgwillam Smooth Rider
Res: Maesybrithdir Super King

M & M Mini Championship
Champion: Pantycoed Silver Charm
Res: Rhosmarche Harlequin

M & M Ridden Championship
Champion: Ceinewyddfach Seren
Res: Brynleyview Comanche

M & M Championship
Champion: Rhydgwillam Smooth Rider
Res: Pantycoed Silver Charm

Supreme Foal
Champion:Crugybar Maddie Morganna Mai
Res:Tyr Llawn Survivor

Supreme Gelding
Champion:Castlemead Bilbo Baggins
Res: Glynceirch Awel Teify

Supreme Youngstock
Champion: Waxwing Glimmer
Res: Crugybar Maddie Morganna Mai

Supreme of Show
Champion: Superted Too
Res: Nye Poppies Boy

2nd Oct 2012