News and views 

Carmarthenshire WPCA Spring Medal Show 2015

May 10th 2015

After the horrendous weather conditions of 2013 and 2014 it was third time lucky for CWPCA Spring show at Ffos Las Racecourse with a dry, if chill, day with even some glimpses of the sun. Last years’ competitors had to battle with wet and muddy conditions but the new drainage at Ffos Las made for excellent going.

The Section A judge, Mrs W Lowe-Barnes from Lancashire had some excellent classes and the same ponies as both youngstock and overall A champions. Richard Miller with Dirion Bleddyn was Champion in both classes and Mr S Franklin and Mrs S Finch’s Sarum Rose D’Anjou was Reserve Champion. Dirion Bleddyn as Champion was a fitting tribute to our great friend and supporter, the late Bleddyn Pugh of the Dirion Stud.


Dirion Bleddyn
Photograph by


Mrs Sally Green from Nottingham followed suit in the B Section and Champion youngstock and overall B was Samantha Green’s Cadlanvalley Pandora with Mrs D & Mr GA Jones’s Fairywood Gwenllian reserve in both classes. The WPBR Youngstock Champion was Jason Jones’s Lodgemor Fizz Bomb and Reserve was Mrs K Hall’s Penstrumbly Our Latif. Overall Champion was A Pritchard-Simmons Cupidhill Caprice with Lodgemor Fizz Bomb as Reserve.


Cadlanvalley Pandora
Photograph by



Cupidhill Caprice
Photograph by


John Morris travelled down from Colwyn Bay to judge the C and D  and had some good classes with quality animals presented to him. Section C Youngstock Champion was JG Batt’s Abergavenny Glory Bee with reserve going to Hannah Parr with Infield Gem.  Section C Champion was Rachel Evans Gornoeth Mr Humphreys with Reserve Champion going to Catrin Reed’s Tyngyndwn Angharad. Section D  Youngstock Championship went to Haydn Hudson’s Maesyfelin Enllys with reserve going to Chris Bevan and Hannah John’s Pencalow Diego Costa. Overall D Champion was Ron Carroll’s Haniel Cochise with Reserve L Chambers Haighmoor Prydferth.


Abergavenny Glory Bee
Photograph by



Gornoeth Mr Humphreys
Photograph by



Haniel Cochise
Photograph by


The ridden Welsh classes were well supported and were judged by Gemma Paxford. The mini Champion was Cwmmeudwy Sali Mali for Hannah Parr and Reserve was Bronheulog Aramis owned by Mrs D Edwards.


Cwmmeudwy Sali Mali
Photograph by


Welsh Ridden Champion and Performance Medal winner was India Latter with Rhoson Shanco with Mrs M Marshalay’s Cwmmeudwy Triw reserve.


Rhoson Shanco
Photograph by


John Roberts, Nantlais, judged the Supreme Champions. The Supreme Gelding was Powysvalley William for Jackie Hooker and reserve was Ronin Black Flash.


Powysvalley William
Photograph by


Supreme Youngstock and Overall In Hand Champion was Abergavenny Glory Bee

Supreme Ridden was Rhoson Shanco with reserve Cwmmeudwy Sali Mali.

Report by Elaine Price

4th Jun 2015