News and views 

Aberystwyth Show 2014 - Report and Photographs

Aberystwyth Show 2014 - Report and Photographs

Aberystwyth Show
14th June 2014

The glorious weather and 28 Horse and Pony sections with 125 classes meant that there was something of interest to everyone at Aberystwyth Show.

The supreme Welsh exhibits, overall, youngstock and foal exhibits are judged by all four judges on a points basis: Mrs Jan Pearce (A), Mrs Maggie Edwards (B), Mr Glyn Williams (C) and Mr Haydn Williams (D).
By awarding the supreme to Menai Stud’s three-year-old very promising Section C filly Menai Curiosa, it meant that she received both J. D. Hughes Memorial trophy (overall) and Ifan Phillips Memorial trophy (youngstock). The Fitzgerald trophy for the best foal went to the Evans family’s Llwynhywel Royal Mint sired by Thorneyside The Magic Man out of Llwynhywel Queen Elizabeth.

Menai Curiosa is accustomed to capturing important awards, at last year’s Royal Welsh Show she was junior champion from 148 entries and reserve Section C champion from 303 entries. She is sired by the dun Menai Calon Lan who also sired the winning yearling filly Menai Ryanna. Menai Lady Cortina (f. 1978), great grand dam of Curiosa is also dam of the 1999 Royal Welsh champion Menai Lady Conspicuous so this family have made a big mark on the breed in general.

Champion Section A was Julian Williams’ good-moving chestnut barren mare Cilmery Hot Chocolate sired by Rookery Rupert, a son of Penual Mark. Hot Chocolate is a daughter of the bay Cilmery Spring Time, one of four bay full-sisters who have produced top progeny on Fayre and Hay-on-Wye Sales; they are sired by Trefaes Taran (bay) out of the bay well-known winner Escley Talesh who is the fourth generation bay from the Escley Stud foundation mare, the brown Arvon Twt (foaled in 1958).

Champion Section B was the eye-catching palomino yearling colt Hilin Siabod Mawr, full-brother to Hilin Madryn who was at Royal Welsh last year and the ten-year-old Stud stallion Hilin Carnedd, a former Royal Welsh winner who is producing top stock. Aberystwyth was Siabod Mawr’s second Show but since then he has also won at Cheshire County and Severn Valley. They are sired by Eyarth Tayma who was 2nd in the 2013 WPCS Sire Ratings with 111 points gained by only 9 progeny. Aberystwyth was a good boost to Tayma’s sire-rating points since, in addition to Siabod Mawr, he also sired the winning stallion Mandy Jones’ Melau Montana and the winning barren mare Hilin Lorna from Bryntwrch, Ffarmers.

The champion Section D was Teulu Lloyd’s barren mare Geler Leah. This was her first-ever showring appearance, the family having decided that she was too good to lie idle in the field and the judge and the large attendance of enthusiast at Aberystwyth obviously agreed with them! Leah is the sixth generation from the 1964 Royal Welsh champion Geler Daisy via such well-known mares as Geler Roseann (f. 1976), Geler Neli (f. 1969) and Geler Ann (f. 1964).

Winner of both ridden Section A/B championship and C/D championship judged by Mrs Gillian Sells were the Reed family with Tiavoric Legacy (B) and Nebo Julie Ann (D).

The Welsh part-bred classes judged by Miss Judith Powell provided the largest ridden class of the day won by Kathy Hall’s Penstrumbly Taffetta sired by her Welsh cob stallion Yorkin Come Lucky who has produced Part-breds which are making a name for themselves in the eventing and dressage world. The yearling Penstrumbly Ooo Me Julie (by Abergavenny Armani) also won, having won at the Royal Welsh Winter Fair and supreme over everything at Carmarthen WPCA. It was good to see two prize-winners with the “Taihirion” prefix, the Reverend John Owen of Taihirion having judged Welsh ponies and cobs at the Royal Welsh exactly 100 years ago.

Pam Smith’s Arllwyn The Jackpot won the harness championship driven by Jamie Baldwin of the Janton Stud.

Dr Wynne Davies
WPCS Publicity Officer


Menai Curiosa



Clmery Hot Chocolate and Brynrodyn Bonheddwr



Hilin Siabod Mawr



Geler Leah


Photographs by Dr Wynne Davies

17th Jul 2014