News and views 

Abergavenny and Glebedale Open Day and Race Night

20th September 2014

It had taken many months of preparation by Jonathan Batt and his family of Abergavenny Stud and Kitty Bodily and her mother Jill Williams of Glebedale Stud to organise the Open Day on 20th September. They were blessed with excellent weather which attracted a large gathering in aid of the Gwent 2015 Royal Welsh Feature County Fund.

The 30 cobs and ponies of cob-type at Abergavenny were all produced in show condition and every one presented individually; Jonathan is very fortunate to have some 15 athletic handlers amongst his large circle of friends!

The Abergavenny display began with the Section Cs where the outstanding animal was the nine-year-old brood mare Abergavenny Bayleaf who has been Royal Welsh reserve champion twice, firstly in 2008 when she was also youngstock champion then again this year with foal Abergavenny Kendall at foot.

The two famous cob mares on parade were the 2011 Royal Welsh George Prince of Wales champion, the fourteen-year-old Abergavenny Morning Queen and the superb twelve-year-old Abergavenny Sally who is as good a cob mare as has ever been.

Then followed a ridden display with Monahawk Masterpiece, Trevallion Picasso and this year’s Royal Welsh Reserve Supreme champion Abergavenny Valmai. The Abergavenny cobs are regularly hunted by Claire Parsons which accounts for their impeccable manners in the showring or at Sales.

At Glebedale we saw 12 Section A mares, 2 Section B mares, 3 Section C mares and 2 Section D mares loose in the fields followed by 10 Section A youngstock which were paraded individually, their show mares Glebedale Savannah and Glebedale Isadora, two Section C stallions, 4 Section A colt foals including the chestnut Glebedale Moonwalker and a dun filly foal Glebedale Alexis. Isadora was a bargain on the Fayre Oaks Sale the following week (£700) while the foals sold well Alexis at £1,600 and Moonwalker at £800.

The two-year-old colt Pendock Pageboy was much admired, he has been unbeaten in his class this year and won a youngstock championship and an overall championship.

Pride of place at Glebedale must go to the thirteen-year-old famous Glebedale Savannah, twice winner of the Lord Arthur Cecil cup overall native breeds at the National Pony Show. Savannah is sired by Rookery Rupert (son on Penual Mark) out of Polaris Soned whose breeding contains some of the the best bloodlines in the history of the Welsh Mountain pony. Soned’s sire Coed Coch Gethin is by Coed Coch Salsbri (son of five-times Royal Welsh champion Coed Coch Siaradus) out of twice Royal Welsh champion Coed Coch Pelydrog. Soned’s dam Polaris Sonnet is granddaughter of twice Royal Welsh champion Coed Coch Siwan who is herself granddaughter of Coed Coch Serliw (Ceulan) Royal Welsh champion in 1949.

Refreshments were provided at Glebedale before a Race Night and Auction at the Hogs Head, Treadam. We are told that they were very successful and will post a report on this web-site when received.

Dr Wynne Davies, M.B.E.
WPCS Publicity Officer

Monmouthshire Welsh Ponies and Cobs Royal Welsh Champions

1906 & 1907: Melton Cadet owned by Viscount Tredegar, Tredegar Park
1912: Lily of the Valley Section C (female Champion) Richard Jeremiah, Woodfield House, Blackwood
1967: Honyton Michael ap Braint, Section D (overall). Mr Mostyn Isaac, Manmoel
1975: Isamman Dafydd Section C male Champion Mr and Mrs Rob Robinson, Gwehelog, Usk.
1977 & 1982: Rosedale Mohican Section B (overall) Mr & Mrs Les Partridge, Cwmbran
1980: Porthvaynor Gold Dust Section D (female Champion) bred by Mr Idris Davies, Llangwm, Usk
1982: Hewid Cardi Section D progeny, Messrs Balz and Foster, Llanover, Abergavenny
1983: (male), 1984 (male), 1996 (male), 1997 (male), 1998 (overall) Ebbw Victor Section D. Mr David Weeks Blackwood
1990: (overall), 1998 (overall) , Ty’reos Furietta, Section C Mr & Mrs Rob Robinson, Usk.
1990: (male) Bodwenarth Red Spark Section C bred by Mr Peter English, Blackwood
1995: (female) Ynysfaen Lady Barneby Section D Mr Howard Grist, Ebbw Vale
1996: (overall), 2000 (overall) Section C Hywi Moonlight Mr Roger Davies, Ebbw Vale
1997: (overall) Ty’reos Lowri Section C Mr and Mrs Rob Robinson, Usk
2003: (male) Hafodyrynys Welsh Crusader Section C Mr Wayne Groucott, Crumlin
2004: (female) Hafodyrynys Cariad Section C Mr Wayne Groucott, Crumlin
2005: (overall) Pentrepiod Welsh Flyer Section D Mr Roger Davies & Mr Malcolm Cross, Ebbw Vale
2007: (female) Hafodyrynys Rosette Section C Mr Wayne Groucott, Crumlin
2008: (female), 2014 (female) Abergavenny Bay Leaf Section C Mr Jonathan Batt, Abergavenny
2008: (male) Danaway Scrumpy Jack (Section D) Mr Jack Bowerman, Ebbw Vale
2005: (overall) & 2010 (overall) Tycwm Abbergail Section C Mr Victor Moore, Ebbw Vale
2011: (overall) Bryncarreg Lightning Jack Section C Mr Wayne Groucott, Crumlin
2011 (female) Hywi Pollyanna Section C Mr Roger Davies, Ebbw Vale
2011: (overall) Abergavenny Morning Queen Section D Mr & Mrs John Batt, Abergavenny


2nd Oct 2014