News and views 

2015 Annual General Meeting Report

2015 Annual General Meeting Report

The Welsh Pony and Cob Society Annual General Meeting took place at the Hatherley Manor Hotel, Gloucester on Saturday 28th March under the Presidency of Mrs Mary Redvers, Bwlch Stud who introduced the new Secretary Mr Andrew Johnstone. A number of members passed away during 2014 – 2015 and members present stood as a mark of respect.

Mrs Elizabeth Russell, Chair of Finance assisted by Miss Claire Philips of Broomfield & Alexander guided members through the Balance Sheet which showed a turnover of £1,787,471. The Journal advertising income increased to over £32,000. As a result of last year’s President’s Auction, Mr Edwin Prosser donated £2,050 each to the British Heart Foundation and Cancer Research UK. Dr Wynne Davies introduced Mr John Davies (Rhoson) and Mr Wyn Jones (Nerwyn) who received Honorary Life Membership and Mr Terry Clarke for Life Membership and the President awarded them their certificates.

Mrs Ann Bigley, Chair of Council presented her report, membership had increased slightly to 6,825 (1,750 Life members and 5,095 Annual members), as expected registrations had decreased again to 5,684 (down from 11,703 in 2009) of which 30% were Section A, 11% B, 14% C, 29% D and 15% WPB, the number of stallions licensed remained constant at around 300. Exports had increased from 463 to 523 led by 145 to Germany followed by 96 to Holland and 76 to France.

The President awarded a Past Young Ambassador badge to Mr Shae Price, the current badge to Mr Gareth Watkins, the Young Ambassador Elect sash to Miss Eleri Evans of the Cathedine Stud and the Young Achiever’s Award to Miss Anna Richards. The In-hand sire ratings trophies were presented to Cwmhendy Buster (A for the 5th time), Laithehill Oberon (B for the 5th time), Moorcroft The Master (C for the 2nd time) and Gwynfaes Culhwch (D for the 8th time). The Performance Sire Ratings trophies were presented to Springfieldpark Dot Com and Sianwood Arcade (harness, joint), Nantdywyll Telor (LR/FR) and Trevallion Picasso (ridden). The Royal Welsh Show Sire ratings certificates were presented to Cwmhendy Buster (A), Llanarth Da Vinci (B), Parc Hebog (C) and Danaway Tango (D) with the reserves to Dukeshill Magnum (A), Mynach Buccaneer and Lemonshill Top Note (joint B), Moorcroft The Master and Synod Robyn Dundee (joint C) and Geler Sparc and Menai Sparkling Image (joint D). The RW ridden gelding awards were made to Wernderris Chancellor (A), Cadlanvalley Sandpiper (B), Cadfach Rhydian (C) and Penstacan Abraham (D). The HOYS Gold Medal and Certificate Ridden Awards were presented to Powys(NL)Sprite (A), Cadlanvalley Buzby (B), Tyreos Casanova (C), Saith Magical Ginger (D), Castlemead Andy-Pandy (LR), Amesbury Lucy Locket (FR), Waitwith West Wind (122cm WHP), Hanmere Maverick (133cm WHP) and Coathamdene Just-Dylan (143cm WHP). The National High-Point Junior Gelding awards went to Floreat Moonstone (A), Winton Romany Prince, Glynwyn Charlie Brown, Meiktila Celt (C) and Alltwallis Jack, Brynfa Tiger Boy and Derwen Replicate (D). The Debbie Dunbar portrait for 2014 was of the RW Section D champion Fronarth Super Model. Dycott Mark of Excellence, the supreme champion of the 2014 Performance Show was awarded the Christine Latter painting. The Brightwells awards were presented to Dorneyrow Stud (Cob Sale), Springbourne and Blanche Studs (Fayre Oaks Sale), Abercippyn Lady in Red (Brood mare), Rhydeilian Morning Thunder (Foal) and Mr Sandy Anderson received the Brightwells 150th Anniversary trophy and also the Mrs Kathleen Cuff Memorial trophy for Section B at the Fayre Oaks Sale. The Kentchurch Trophy for Welfare was awarded to the late Mr Graham Smith MRCVS and collected by Ms Ballinger and Miss Catherine Bennet. Dr Wynne Davies introduced Mrs Ann Overton-Ablitt, Colne Stud who received the Brodrick Memorial trophy, the highest award of the WPCS.

Dr Wynne Davies, Publicity Officer informed the Meeting that he had supplied 73 pages and 329 photographs reporting 26 events, Shows, Sales, Displays etc which were on the WPCS web-site. He congratulated Mrs Anna Goodwin at the WPCS Office for putting some results on the web-site on the day of the event. He had also supplied reports to the daily Press, magazines at home and abroad and Society Journals; he showed some Journals e.g. the German Jahrbuch and the South African Journal which featured the Mrs Alison Mountain Memorial cabinet at Bronaeron. He congratulated the Editor, type-setter and Office Staff for producing the Journal and Magazine two weeks before the agreed date, also the producers of the Society Calendar which has been very well received. Wynne Davies books are still in demand, one was offered recently on Amazon for £3,874 and hopefully book No 13 will appear before too long.

There were many persons to thank such as Mrs Jane Weller, Mrs Kathleen James and Mrs Janice Parry who organised the Performance Competition and Presentation at Cheltenham, Mrs Tanya Baldwin and helpers who ran the Performance Show and the Misses Hardy who added up the sire points at the Royal Welsh Show. Having served as Assistant to the late Mrs Nell Pennell for 20 years and Publicity Officer for another 40 years, Dr Wynne thought it was time to hand over to a younger person and announced his gradual retirement and assistance to the incoming PO this year and to retire at the next AGM. Dr Wynne gave the vote of thanks to the retiring President Mrs Mary Redvers and presented her with an album of 60 photographs of her year of office. Mrs Sarah Osborne of the Cui Stud seconded the vote of thanks. Mr Dai Harris, Pennal Stud was appointed President for 2015/16 and, as a result of a postal ballot Mrs Betty French of the Forlan Stud as President-Elect. Also as the result of a postal ballot Messrs Elgan Evans, Ed Gummery, Tom Hughes, Jeff Parry and Colin Thomas were elected to serve on Council for the period 2015 – 2018.

Dr Wynne Davies.
WPCS Publicity Officer



Photographs by Jack Boskett

14th Apr 2015