News and views 

2014 Performance Competition Awards

The 43rd presentation of awards and bursaries took place at the Thistle Hotel, Cheltenham on Sunday 30th November. The competition was sponsored by the WPCS, Brightwells Auctioneers, Llanarth Stud, Langarth Stud, Floreat Stud and Maureen Lloyd Bainbridge. There were 149 entries for this competition including, for the first time ever, one from Overseas. The Overseas entry was the large Welsh part-bred mare Bondleigh Royal Welda bred by Jane Field at Ciliau Aeron, Lampeter sired by Weld out of Bondleigh Royal Minx, daughter of the Welsh cob mare Victoria Duchess. Royal Welda, who is now French-owned by Mrs Kate Bunby and ridden by Olivier Mussard won 1,720 points for Show Jumping in France. Mrs Bunby has initiated a “Welsh K” register in France for Welsh part-breds which hopefully will advertise the section; currently Welda is ranked 34/646 in the French Sports Horse register which caters for all breeds.

The trophies and rosettes were presented by Mr Terry Court (Brightwells), Mrs Ann Bigley (Llanarth Stud), Mrs Deidre Powell (Langarth), Mrs Mary Redvers (WPCS President), Mr Dai Harris (WPCS President-Elect), Mr Shae Price (WPCS Young Ambassador) and Mrs Sarah Page (Floreat). This competition involves enormous work expertly undertaken by Mrs Jane Weller, Mrs Kathleen James and their team of helpers.

Winner of the “Riding” cup for supreme championship with 5375 points was the Section D stallion Dycott Welsh King owned by Angela Jackson and ridden by Ross Keys, Angela Jackson and Anna Chaplin. Welsh King won 18 Working Hunter competitions including Novice WHP champion at Ponies (UK) Summer and Winter championships. Welsh King was bred by driving experts Clare Granger and George Mitchell.

Reserve overall champion with 4980 points was another Section D, the Working Hunter Daichristu Flying High owned and ridden by Anna Chaplin. Flying High had won 15 times.

Champion Section A with 3710 points was Melanie Roberts’ Sarum Posy ridden by Neisha and Mia Roberts. Posy won the M&M Working Hunter pony competition at the Royal Welsh Show and BSPS Summer championships. She had also won at Cross country, show jumping and Pony Club.

The champion Section B Floreat Chocolate Chip with 3000 points is owned and ridden/driven by Cerys Gilbert and had won in scurry driving, driving trials and show jumping. Chocolate Chip was selected to represent England at the World Scurry Driving Trials.

It was another harness pony Tycwm Sebastian who was Section C champion with 2945 points. Sebastian is owned by Rosemary Neale who shares the driving between herself and Chelsea Bailey. Sebastian is a son of Tycwm Abbergail, the 2005 Royal Welsh champion and HOYS Cuddy qualifier. Sebastian is usually driven as a pair with Stationtown The Governor (2345 points) but had additional single driving points at Forest Edge and the National Indoor Driving Championships.

Small part-bred champion with 3325 points was the nine-year-old gelding Portmead New Horizon owned and bred by Kate Odey and ridden by Charlotte Chard and they had won dressage, Riding Club, Combined Training, Eventing and show jumping. New Horizon won the NPS Dressage Finals.

The large part-bred champion with 2165 points was Debbie Barr’s five-year-old mare Penstrumbly Upsee Daisy ridden by Alice Barr. Daisy is sired by the popular Pembrokeshire performance sire Liberace out of a Welsh Part Bred mare by the Section D Menai Firestorm and she won the part-bred championship at the Welsh National Show at Malvern.

The Fontmell trophy for outstanding achievement was won by Stewart Franklin’s Section A stallion Heniarth Quinnell who was 9th under saddle at HOYS but his son Powys Sprite won the class, another son Sarum Rembrandt was 2nd and a third son Sarum Japhet also qualified.

21 of the 149 entrants had been purchased at Brightwells Sales. Mr Court presented a trophy to the highest-placed which was the Section A Blackhill Tazmin (2450 points) owned by Liz Stewart and Bridget Samuel and ridden by Jess Stewart. Tazmin, who was purchased on the 2008 Hay-on-Wye Sale, had won Dressage, Pony Club, Handy Family pony and show ridden.

WPCS Bursaries were presented to Brooke Tavener, Maisie Fryer, Jess Stewart and Lucy Corlett and Floreat Stud Bursaries to Anna Crump and Gia Neath.

Clwyd won the Area Association Teams competition (9125 points) with Sarum Posy (A), Nantrhos Corylus (B), Davids Lovelorn (D) and Tyrellspass Romeo (WPB) from Glamorgan with 8895 points for Rhesfair Llwynog (A), Rockbury Taragon (B), Gurnos Welsh Replica (C) and Oldforge The Gladiator (D).

Dr Wynne Davies
Publicity Officer

Full Results

If there are any errors in the results please contact immediately, as they are published in the WPCS Journal.

Photographs by Rosie Filmer


10th Dec 2014