News and views 

2013 Performance Competition Awards

There were 42 trophies presented at the Performance Competition Awards held at the Thistle Hotel, Cheltenham on Sunday 1st December. When the competition was first organised in 1972 there was only the “Riding” trophy which is awarded to the supreme champion with the Betty Knowles trophy awarded to the breeder.

This year the Riding cup was won by Jane Weller’s Section D gelding Menai Callum who had collected 4,140 points in Working Hunter classes and he was also reserve champion at this year’s WPCS Performance Show. He was purchased as a foal by Mrs Weller on the Brightwells 2008 Cob Sale so also won the Brightwells trophy for the highest-placed bought on a Brightwells Sale. Brightwells sponsored the awards for Sections A, B, C and D. Close on the heels of Callum in Section D with 4,005 points was Anna Chaplin’s 8 year old mare Daichristu Flying High who was champion M&M WHP at Equifest. Christine Paine’s Faenog Misty Lady (2,110 points) won the Fontmell Trophy for outstanding achievement; she was a member of the winning Welsh team at the Nations cup Endurance final.

Reserve supreme with 4,030 points was the section A mare Sarum Posy ridden by Mia Roberts of Llandyrnog, Denbighshire. Posy had won in lead-rein classes and also won the Nursery Stakes at the Royal Welsh. Posy was purchased from her breeder, Mr Stewart Franklin on the 2009 Fayre Oaks Sale. India Latter’s Dutch-bred Powys Sprite won the stallion trophy with 3,550 points; they qualified for the HOYS ridden M and M class. Another HOYS qualifier was Liberty Grota’s Colne Tulip (1,785 points) who won a class of 47 lead-rein entries at the Royal Welsh.

Champion Section B with 3,380 points was Caroline Langford’s 5 year old stallion Butleigh Picasso ridden by Gail Butler, successful at Show Jumping, Dressage and Workers. Picasso was a member of the winning Glamorgan Area Association team (8,850 points), the other members being Aros Juliette (A), Rivervalley Tyron (C) and Oldforge The Gladiator (D).

Mr Gwyn Parry’s 11 year old stallion Gurnos Welsh Eyecatcher was Section C champion with 3,380 points; ridden and driven by his daughter Victoria Kedward he had won Show Jumping, Dressage, Driving and Hunter Trials. The 9 year old gelding Gurnos Welsh Replica from the same Stud (2,555 points) won the junior Show Jumping category ridden by Jack Kedward. Jack, a bursary winner in 2012, was awarded the Helen Forsyth Encouragement trophy.

The part-breds are sponsored by the part-bred groups and the awards presented by the chairman Mrs Jocelyn Price. The groups are much encouraged by the news that they are allocated HOYS qualifying classes in 2014. Winner of the pony group with 3,660 points was Mrs Kate Odey’s home-bred Portmead New Horizon who had won Show Jumping, Dressage, ODE and Pony Club. The horse champion with 1,420 points was Catherine Westran’s Darcie’s Law, a well-known eventer being placed 6th at the BE90 event.

WPCS President-Elect Mrs Mary Redvers, mother of leading Racehorse stud owner and bloodstock agent David Redvers, presented the breeders trophies to Stewart Franklin (A), Robert Jones (B), Gwyn Parry (C), Peter and Ann Jones (D) and Kate Odey (WPB). The Rookery trophy for outstanding achievement went to Claire Granger and George Mitchell of the Dycott Stud; their Senny Kendall (A stallion) competed in harness at eight Shows and won 7 at 1st prizes and 2nd to the Dutch exhibit at the Royal Welsh and their Cargarsar Silver Shadow (C stallion) was unbeaten in harness at eight Shows including the Supreme Driving Championship at the Royal Welsh. Dycott Stud also bred Dycott Masterman the 138cm show jumping winner at HOYS 2013. WPCS Council member Mr Mike Daley awarded WPCS Bursaries to Alex Maben, Zahra Bennett and Natalie Hirst and Mrs Sarah Page awarded Floreat Bursaries to Heidi Lewis and Tirion Lloyd.

Mr Stewart Franklin of the Sarum Stud sponsored the Section A gelding competition and presented awards to Springlane Firecracker (also champion), Whiteastra Dagon, Sunwillow Rochester and Parccarreg Ingot. WPCS President Mr Edwin Prosser presented the other gelding awards sponsored by Stockham Stud, Glebedale Stud and Perthog Stud to Doylan Gorgeous George, Cadlanvalley Sundial, Brookhall Sea Lord, Duradens Hotspur, Luhelli Laugharne and Llanquian Warrior (Section B), Glynceirch Awel Teifi (also reserve champion), Isycoed Kubotan, Winton Romany Prince and Whinneyroyd Wotz Occurin (Section C) and Tymor Dancing Brave and Derwen Replicate (Section D).

A special presentation of a collage of Highland Stud ponies was made to Mrs Kathleen James who was retiring after organising this competition for 30 years.

Dr Wynne Davies.

Full Results



17th Dec 2013