News and views 

2012 AGM Report

Approximately 300 members of the Welsh Pony and Cob Society attended the AGM at the Thistle Hotel, Cheltenham on 31stMarch under the Presidency of Mrs Kathleen James of the Highland Stud, Uckfield, Sussex.


Photograph by Alex Kelly


Mr Robert Manchip Chairman of Finance guided members through the balance sheet which showed a surplus of £37,562 on a turnover of £1.56m. Company Secretary Ms Anna Prytherch provided statistics for 2011 showing registrations of 8,357 (34% section A, 11% B, 12% C, 28% D, 15% WPB) a decrease from 8,952 in 2010 and 11,703 in 2009. Transfers had kept up well at 9,751 as opposed to 10,251 in 2010 and membership was up 231 at 7,633. Exports at 516 were slightly down on previous figures, led by 156 to Germany, 100 to Holland and 84 to France.

Dr Wynne Davies, Publicity Officer described the Society’s new re-vamped web-site, congratulated owners who had exceptional successes during 2012, thanked the Education and Welfare Committee for producing Welfare leaflets and organising Demonstrations for students, Mr David Blair for producing the Society Journal which has no equal in the world and Mrs Ceri Fell for producing the 2013 Society Calendar. An album of photographs of the events which she had attended during her year of office was presented to the President.

The President awarded Honorary Life memberships to Glyn and Lynne Williams, Mrs Jennifer Fox and Mr Vivian Thomas and an Honorary Lifetime Achievement Award to Mrs Alison Mountain of the Twyford Stud, Editor of the Society Journal from 1962 to 1982, member of Council for 45 years, Chairman from 1991 to 1997 and President in 1965. The Past Young Ambassador badge was presented to Miss Gillian McNinch of Ayr who competed successfully in the Private Driving classes at the HOYS. Mr Owen Griffiths of the Ilar Stud was installed as Young Ambassador for 2012 with the very successful rider Miss Marged Simons as Young Ambassador Elect. The Young Achiever’s Award was presented to Mr Dafydd Jones of the Fronarth Stud with Miss Abbey Devenney of the Julmar Stud receiving a Highly Commended Certificate.

The In-hand sire rating trophies were presented to Cwmhendy Buster (A for the fourth time), Laithehill Oberon (B for the third time), Joyton May Be Black (C ) and Gwynfaes Culhwch (D for the fifth time). Performance sire-rating trophies were presented to Eyarth Figaro (ridden), Roseisle Pandytudyr (mini ridden), Gwenfo Apollo (driven) and Gorfelyn Beacon (Working Hunter). Trophies for the Highest-placed Welsh animals at the Olympia M&M Championships were awarded to Bryndefaid St Andrew (A ), Bronheulog Harvey (B ), Popsters Debutante (C ) and Kentchurch Charity (D ). The Royal Welsh Sire Rating trophies for the highest points and reserves were awarded to Blackhill Picalo and Winneydene Bari (A ), Moleview Charmer Boy and Carrwood Orpheus (B ), Donys Llawen and Nebo Bouncer (C ) and Menai Sparkling Magic and Trevallion Harry (D ). Derwen spoons to the breeder of the highest placed ridden geldings at the Royal Welsh Show were awarded to Powys Jack Flash (A ), Eyarth Osprey (B ), Elwell Master Bronson (C ) and Bottleymill Magic Spark (D ). The well-known Equine Artist Debbie Dunbar provided exquisite paintings of Royal Welsh champions Stonedge Samuel (A ) and Abergavenny Morning Queen (D ) for their owners Mrs Sally Athey and John, Bev and Jonathan Batt.

Education Bursaries to young people within the equine industry were instigated in 2007 and for 2012 were awarded to Mr Dean Baker (NVQ in Farriery) and Mr Gareth Watkins (B.Sc. in Equine Studies). Representatives of Brightwells Auctioneers presented trophies in recognition of contribution to the Sales as a vendor or purchaser, 150 Anniversary trophy to Dr Wynne Davies who had sold on every one of the 58 Fayre Oaks Sales, Champagne Moment trophies to Mr Paul Brightwell (Fayre Oaks Sale), Lee family (Autumn Cob Sale), Mr and Mrs John Batt (Brood mare), Miss Sharon Coburn (Foal) and Mr Sandy Anderson (Section B). The Kentchurch trophy for welfare was presented to Mr Lee Hackett, Senior Welfare Executive at the British Horse Society and the Brodrick Memorial trophy, the highest honour of the Society to Nebo Bouncer who died last year and who has headed the section C sire ratings 14 times.


Nebo Bouncer - Photograph by Anthony Reynolds

A vote of thanks to the retiring President Mrs Kathleen James was proposed by Mr Ifor Lloyd and seconded by Mr Jeff Parry; Mr Eric Davies of the Maesmynach Stud was installed as President with Mr Edwin Prosser of the Mintfield Stud as President-Elect.

As a result of postal ballot the following were elected onto Council:

2012 – 2015: Mr Anthony Booth (Rainhill), Mr Steve Everitt (Tireve), Mrs Lisa Reed (Tyngwndwn), Mr Rod Rees (Horeb) and Mrs Elizabeth Russell (Gartconnel).

2012 – 2014: Mr Mike Daley (Vale), Mrs Angela Kember (Ladysden), Mr Daniel Morgan (Parc), Mr Kevin Walker (Brynoffa) and Mr Martin Waters (Solloway).

2012 – 2013: Mrs Ceri Fell (Brynseion), Mr Peter Jones (Menai) and Mrs Nicky Oldershaw (Larnleighs).

The proceeds of the Annual Collection will be split between the Animal Health Trust and the Society for the Welfare of Horses and Ponies.

Dr Wynne Davies, Publicity Officer.

The AGM Dinner Auction and Raffle made £2250, this has been sent to Macmillan Nurses Carers and Cancer Support for Patients and Carers.

More Photographs
13th Apr 2012